April 10th, 2015, by admin

RIT School of Media Sciences: Record-Breaking Showing at 2015 TAGA Conference

The 67th Annual Technical Association of the Graphic Arts Conference was held in Albuquerque, New Mexico from March 22 – 25, 2015. This was a record-breaking year for RIT participation, with a total of six papers representing RIT research accepted for publishing in the TAGA Proceedings. Included are research from Professors Bob Chung and Bruce Myers as well as recent School of Media Science Master of Science Degree graduates Lufei Yu, Peng Cheng, Changlong Yu, and Rattana Mayteekriengkrai, whose work will be published in the prestigious 2015 TAGA Proceedings. Further, Chung, Myers, Lufei Yu, Cheng and Changlong Yu presented their research at the conference and were all well-received by the attendees and TAGA board.

In addition, Undergraduates from RIT College of Imaging Arts and Sciences attended the conference and presented their 2015 Journal in an annual competition with schools from across the US, Canada and France. This year’s journal was the culmination of a full twelve months of effort and included both digital and print editions as well as augmented reality. The students’ hard work paid off as they were awarded the top prize for best electronic journal among all of the institutions participating. Representing the RIT TAGA Chapter were Brian Siegfried, Chapter President (4th Year, Media Arts and Technology), Emily Doolittle (4th Year, Media Arts and Technology), Kelly Gatesman (4th Year, Graphic Design), Alissa Roy (2nd Year, Media Arts and Technology), and Mitchell Morgan (1st Year, Media Arts and Technology).

This proved to be a valuable networking opportunity for the students, as they met and interacted with top professionals from industry as well as students and educators from other institutions. Further, they attended the conference presentations and learned from top professionals representing the cutting edge of technology in the graphic arts from around the world.

Still another accolade from this year’s conference is noteworthy for RIT: Frank Romano, RIT Professor Emeritus, was one of the recipients of the prestigious 2015 Michael H. Bruno Award for outstanding contributions to the graphic arts industry. In his acceptance speech, Romano delivered an impassioned and congenial address remembering the life and work of the late Michael H. Bruno as founder of TAGA and his longtime friend and colleague.

Congratulations to all students and professors who worked on this year’s project!


Connect with Us


Meet the Staff

Megan Cooper


Brianna Juda


Hayden Wagner


Kim Pratt


Amanda Carroll